The Royale


Playing Now through October 15, 2017


2017 – 2018 Season


40 Years Strong!

Stay In-the-Know!

< 2017 >
September 14
  • 14
    Webb's City Poster


    8:00 pm-10:00 pm
    Cannot determine address at this location.

    The hit musical written and directed by Bill Leavengood with music, lyrics and musical direction by Lee Ahlin about St. Pete’s famous drug store returns to the Palladium in a concert format.

    In 1999, the Pinellas County Millennium Celebration commissioned Leavengood and Ahlin to create a new musical based on the life and times of J. E. “Doc” Webb, the colorful St. Petersburg entrepreneur called the “P.T. Barnum of Retail.” In 1925, Webb opened a tiny drug store on Ninth Street and over the next five decades transformed it into a 77-store complex covering ten city blocks. In its heyday, Webb’s City attracted 60,000 visitors per day.

    Webb’s City, the Musical premiered in 2000 at both Ruth Eckerd Hall and the Mahaffey Theater. The show was such a hit that a new non-profit arts organization, LiveArts, was created to bring it back to the Mahaffey Theater in 2001, where it broke their box office records, selling more than 10,000 tickets. A community theatre production was mounted at St. Petersburg Little Theatre a few years later where it broke their box office records as well.

    Now, the Palladium Theater and American Stage, with underwriting by Jim and Suzanne MacDougald and Larry and Joyce Beltz, present this brand new multimedia concert version featuring all of the great music from the original musical, expertly woven together with narration, scene highlights and iconic images from five decades of St. Petersburg and Webb’s City history. The show reunites original production’s creators and directors, Bill Leavengood and Lee Ahlin.

    Doc Webb: Jim Sorensen
    Aretta Webb: Emilee Dupre
    Leo Kerns: Terrence Jamison
    Frank Hubert: Charles Reynolds
    Marie Webb: Emilia Sargent
    Breadline Betty: Stephanie Roberts
    Bunie Webb: Michael McGuigan
    Jimmy Webb: Mitch Marois
    Ensemble: Susie Rayburn, Josh Moody, Olivia Sargent, Charlotte Leavengood, Senna Prasatthong-osoth, Will Hess, Ari Weiss, Shannon Wright, Reilly O’Neill, Erin Wilson, Oliver Hess